Even the most secretive of people are likely to have their guard down at some point, whether it’s after a few drinks or simply because they’re feeling happy and carefree. There may come a time when you suspect that someone you know has deleted their Snapchat account. This could be for any number of reasons: They may simply not want to share as much about their personal life with you as you do with them; they might feel like their account is open to too much scrutiny from third parties, whether it’s friends or potential employers; or they might take issue with the way that Snapchat has handled certain PR gaffes in recent memory. Whatever the reason, if you suspect that someone you know has deleted their account–or even just deactivated it for a little while–here’s how to check if this is the case and what else you can find out if they have.
How To Know If Someone Deleted Their Snapchat
Finding Out If Someone Deleted Their Snapchat Account
The first thing you should try if you suspect someone of having deleted their account is simply to ask them. This may seem like a strange suggestion, but some people are simply going to have deactivated their account for a short amount of time, perhaps because they’re on vacation and don’t want to be bombarded with messages from people they barely know. When you approach the person in a casual, friendly manner, it’s unlikely that they’ll have any reason to lie to you about it. If you can’t bring yourself to ask, or if the person you’re trying to contact won’t respond to you, there are other ways to find out.
Check Whether the Person Has Mentioned Deleting Their Account
If you’ve been following the person’s feed for a while, there’s a good chance that they’ve mentioned having deleted their account at some point in the past. This could be either in a direct reply to a friend or even in a story, so it’s worth going through the feed to see if you can find any mentions of this. In addition, you can use a tool like Story Explorer to find mentions of deleted accounts on stories. If you do find a mention of this, then you can be almost certain that the person has deleted their account at some point in the past.
Check the Person’s Timeline
If you can’t find a mention of deleting their account in their feed, then it may be worth checking to see if there is any evidence of this on their profile. If they have a public Snapchat story, then you should be able to find some clues in that. For example, if someone has deleted their account and you can find them on their public story, then they’ll have set up the story with an old username. This is something that Snapchat will allow you to do when you delete your account. In addition, if they have set up a story using an old username, but haven’t yet deleted it from the app itself, then this could be because they are just waiting to delete it from the app before deactivating or deleting it entirely.
Look for Signs That Their Username Has Been Blocked
You may also find that the person’s username has been blocked from your view. At one time, Snapchat had a policy of blocking the usernames of people who had deleted their accounts, which led to a lot of people editing the dates on their posts and then re-posting them to avoid this. At the time of writing, this practice appears to have stopped, although it’s still worth keeping an eye on usernames in case the company brings back this policy.
Check the Recent Activity Log in Discover
The best way to determine whether someone has deleted or deactivated their account is to check the recent activity log in Discover. You can do this either through the web interface or the mobile app. Navigate to the Explore page and then tap the button that says “Last 24 hours.” Next, tap the “People” button in the top right-hand corner and select “People who have recently unfollowed or un-added you.” This will bring up a list of people who have either unfollowed you or un-added you from your Snapchat friends list. If the person you’re looking for is on this list, then you can be certain that they have deleted their account.
View the Last 10 Stories Posted to Discover
If the person doesn’t appear in the recent activity log and their username has not been blocked, then another way to check for signs of deletion is to view the last 10 stories posted to Discover. To do this, navigate to the Discover page and then tap the three vertical dots in the top right-hand corner. Tap “People who have recently posted a story” and you will see a list of people who have posted stories in the last 24 hours. If the person you’re looking for is on this list, then they have definitely not deleted their account.
Find Out Why They Decided to Delete Their Account
If you do manage to confirm that the person you’re looking for has deleted their account, there are a few ways that you can find out why they did so. One of the best things you can do is to simply ask the person why they decided to do so. If you don’t feel comfortable doing this directly, you can try to get an idea by reading what they post on other social media channels. You can also try checking out articles that discuss why people have deleted their Snapchat accounts.
The best way to find out if someone has deleted their account is to ask them directly. If you can’t bring yourself to do this, then you can try to find out by checking their feed for mentions of having deleted their account in the past. You can also try checking the recent activity log or viewing the last 10 stories posted to Discover. If you find that someone you know has deleted their account, then there are a few ways that you can find out why they did this.
Q: If I delete my Snapchat account, will I lose all of my photos and videos?
A: No, not all of your photos and videos will be deleted. This is because you can always view them through the Memories feature.
Q: How do I find out if someone has deleted their Snapchat account?
A: There are a few ways that you can find out if someone has deleted their account. The easiest way to do this is to ask them directly. If you don’t feel comfortable doing this directly, then you can try to find out by checking their feed for mentions of having deleted their account in the past or by checking the recent activity log, or by viewing the last 10 stories posted to Discover. You can also check out articles that discuss why people have deleted their Snapchat accounts.